Struck Out Swinging: Pee Wee Reese, Johnny Mize and Fred Hutchinson on Tinian


Missing out on pieces that would fit perfectly with what I collect is becoming too common of an occurrence for me lately. I am not one who spends my weekends scouring garage and estate sales in search of these precious artifacts but perhaps there might be something to that activity. The problem with taking that approach is that there is a considerable time commitment required just to make it worthwhile and to afford chances to find such treasures. Another challenge is that these military baseball artifacts are so hard to find due to the small population of service members who played the game during their time in the armed forces. I find that it is best to take my chances with the collections, personal items – pieces that are listed by veterans, family members, collectors and pickers.

It is not secret that my tendencies in collecting, both with militaria and in military baseball are towards the Navy and I work harder to land those related items that surface within the marketplace. Often, there are pieces that are of little interest to other collectors or they are listed in such a manner that they elude people who might be using a few different (yet limited or too specific) search criterion or formulas. Even I have missed out on pieces because I was too lazy to search beyond my normal, standby perfunctory methods.

Sometimes, I make discoveries of items that perfectly fit my collection and line up with everything that interest me but are discovered because I was exploring a tangential interest. One example of this was when I was seeking a specific rating badge (a WWII-era bullion Radarman version), I discovered a binder filled with shipyard modernization work orders that belonged to a Chief Electrician (a warrant officer) who used for the heavy cruiser, USS Vincennes (CA-44) that would later be sunk in the Battle of Savo Island in August of 1942.

My collection of Navy baseball artifacts, despite my best efforts, are scantily few. It seems that besides the there being so few pieces in existence, the competition for those items can be quite fierce.

Vintage military photographs are something that I collect. In addition to my naval ship and military baseball photograph archive, I also have several images that were part of a veteran’s photo scrapbook from his service in the 20th Air Force. Among those images of ground activities, bombing missions, wrecked aircraft and airmen enjoying downtown between missions, there are images of several B-29s and their nose art.

This rare color photograph of the B-17 “Going My Way” with Bugs Bunny is very typical of what was seen on many WWI bomber aircraft.

Nose art, especially what was seen on B-17 an B-29 bombers, has considerable following for collectors and historians alike. When the number of just these two types of aircraft (12,731 B-17 and 3,970 B-29 bombers) are considered coupled with the notion that the majority of them (that were deployed to their respective theaters of the war), there would be thousands of differing paintings and illustrations to be documented. In recent years, there have been several undertakings by historians who are seeking to locate photographs of every example of nose art for each aircraft. If the photograph exists, these folks want to have it.

This jacket, combined with the above image of the Goin’ My Way nose art photo would work together for a fantastic display.

In terms of collectors, those who pursue painted bomber jackets in particular, to possess both the jacket and photographic artifacts from the same ship help to make a great display. I have never actually purchased a vintage photo of a bomber or other Air Force aircraft.

A few days ago, while I was browsing through some listings of B-29 photographs taken on Tinian and Saipan (the two principle bases of operation for bombing missions to the Japanese homelands during the latter years of the War), I spotted a vintage photograph that was listed as a “nose art” image. In the thumbnail of the photo in the listing, I could see that there was a large gathering of men posed beneath the aircraft, which wasn’t unusual. What was out of the norm from what I have seen in other images was the sheer number of people lined up in multiple rows. Something about the men also caught my eye as it appeared different from all the photos that I had seen. The Superfortress looked normal though the nose art, from what I could tell, was quite diminutive compared to what was commonly applied to these massive planes.

In this undated photo, the U.S. Navy team poses with airmen in front of the Superfortress known as “6th CB Brigade” (505th Group, 482nd Squadron), named to honor the Naval Construction Brigade that transformed the island into a major Army and Navy base and aviation complex. Among the players in the image are Pee Wee Reese, Fred Hutchinson and Johnny Mize. 

I decided to open the auction listing and I was immediately astounded. There, in the formation ranks were a few recognizable faces – Johnny Mize, Pee Wee Reese and Fred Hutchinson to name a few – among the 43 visible service members. Twelve of the men in baseball uniforms were wearing the road gray navy flannels while 14 were decked out in the pinstripes and blue home togs. Other men posing in the image are in the Army Air Forces and Navy military uniforms. The image appears to be a type-1 (defined as first generation photograph, developed from the original negative, during the period – within approximately two years of when the picture was taken) and the clarity is impeccable. It is obvious that the photograph was snapped by a professional war correspondent, judging by the exposure and composition, regardless of the cropping out of men on the edges of the group.

I really wanted to land this photograph. Not wanting to risk being outbid, I set my amount for more than twice the highest price that I have ever paid for a vintage photograph. I could see that there were some new-to-eBay folks (those who place bids very early after an item is listed) which gave me a little bit of concern as these people tend to drive prices unnecessarily high (my bid won’t show until just prior to the close of the auction). I waited the remaining five days for the close of the bidding and hoped for the best.

I wish that I could say that my bid amount was enough to bring this photograph home to me but someone else with deeper pockets and, very obviously in possession of the knowledge of the significance of this rare photograph took the same actions as I did and placed a higher bid at the same time (just seconds before the auction’s close) that mine was made. Losing and missing out on this image was a painful lesson to learn. If the item matters this much, I had better step up to the plate and take a real swing.

At least I was able to grab a digital copy (albeit, low resolution) for posterity.

 

About VetCollector

I have been blogging about Militaria since 2010 when I was hired to write for the A&E/History Channel-funded Collectors Quest (CQ) site. It was strange for me to have been asked as I was not, by any means, an expert on militaria nor had I ever written on a recurring basis beyond my scholastic newspaper experience (many MANY decades ago). After nearly two years, CQ was shut down and I discovered that I was enjoying the work and I had learned a lot about my subject matter over that period of time. I served for a decade in the U.S. Navy and descend from a long line of veterans who helped to forge this nation from its infancy all the way through all of the major conflicts to present day and have done so in every branch of the armed forces (except the USMC). I began to take an interest in militaria when I inherited uniforms, uniform items, decorations from my relatives. I also inherited some militaria of the vanquished of WWII that my relatives brought home, furthering my interest. Before my love of militaria, I was interested in baseball history. Beyond vintage baseball cards (early 1970s and back) and some assorted game-used items and autographs, I had a nominal collecting focus until I connected my militaria collecting with baseball. Since then, I have been selectively growing in each area and these two blogs are the result, Chevrons and Diamonds (https://chevronsanddiamonds.wordpress.com/) The Veterans Collection (https://veteranscollection.org/)

Posted on February 26, 2018, in Ephemera and Other Items, Hall of Fame Players, Uniforms, WWII and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. amazing find. I have come across only 2 other images of Flag Ship, and you can see them on my blog if you like, along with all other links to every bit of info I’ve found about this B 29. I was deep diving into researching it in hopes that Jack Kellogg was the painter (he wasn’t, John Anderson was) due to the many pieces of art in various places, as Kellogg did on The Ink Spots. https://justacarguy.blogspot.com/2019/02/thanks-to-bruce-for-scanning-these-nose.html and https://justacarguy.blogspot.com/2019/02/bingo-i-got-lucky-after-searching-for.html

    Like

    • I wish that I was able to get this one landed. I merely captured the image for perpetuity. I have many other vintage photos (a larger grouping of Saipan-based B-29s) and this one would have fit in wonderfully with both the baseball and the PTO aviation images that I have.

      Like

  2. Thunderin” Loretta was crashed by the Caldwell crew on takeoff for a mining mission on May 20, 1945. Not July. The Black crew complained of a missing #1 engine on the May 19 mission. On takeoff the next day the #1 engine quit on takeoff causing a horrendous crash into the 6BG hardstands. My uncle was Charles Siddens, CFC on Loretta. The AC of Thunderin Loretta was Stanley Black from Helena MT. The Black crew was the original crew on Loretta. The Black crew were lost the next week in @Tinny Anne” 44-69811 on a mining mission over Moji Harbor and Shimonoseki strait.
    I have pictures if anyone wants them.
    Howard.mumm@comcast.net

    Like

    • Howard,

      Thank you for taking the time to read this article and to respond. Though it is 75 years hence, we send our condolences for the loss your family suffered and the price paid for freedom.

      Second, thank you for the reminder that we needed to update this article with the information provided by Jesse Bowers that identified the ship as “Brigade 6” or “6th Brigade.” Your note serves as reminder about striving for accuracy as we want to not only get our articles correct but also to render honors and remembrances where they are due.

      We would love to see your photos. We also have quite a collection of 20th Air Force photos from one airman’s life on Saipan.

      Kind regards,

      VC

      Like

  1. Pingback: My Accidental Discovery: A Photographic Military Baseball Holy Grail of Sorts | Chevrons and Diamonds

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.